OK, we’ve discussed how to acquire your grease, but we haven’t yet broached the subject of what you do with it after that. And we really need to talk about how to get it from storage to gas tank.

The acquiring, as I’ve shared, is not all that hard. Just be nice to people with grease. They will usually give it to you for free, as long as you don’t make a mess of their garbage/dumpster area. 

But what do you do once you have 10 or 20 five gallon jugs of dirty french fry oil in your garage? The first thing is to get a big 50 gallon drum with two vent holes on the top.  I got this one from ULINE.

And then you need to filter that stuff. Right now, in its unfiltered form, its concentrated evil and will kill your engine. I use a five micron sock filter. It has a wire hoop at the end and easily fits into one of the two holes at the top of your spiffy, new 55 gallon drum. Here’s the filter I use. This filter will last forever. When it gets too gunky to pour your oil through, rinse it out with standard dish detergent. Or, if you are a true tree hugger, I guess you could use that hippy peppermint oil or Simple Green.

 

heres a good filter

here's a good filter

Now stick a funnel into the filter and pour your nasty grease into the big barrel. Depending on the quality of your stuff, you’ll probably get about half way through before you need to rinse out your filter. When the whole thing is full, let it sit for a week or so. Everyone tells me this is important. It allows all the really bad shit to settle. And it helps separate the water, which is not known for its burning properties, from the oil.

Once your grease has been filtered and rested, you can pump it out. Here’s the hand pump I currently use. So far, I’m not a big fan of this device. It’s a little too rustic and farm-like for my tastes (no disrespect to you farmers). I think I’ll probably spring for an electric pump with a gallons meter on it. The tubing that runs from the pump to the car was standard Home Depot food-grade, 1/4″ rubber tubing. Basically the same stuff on a restaurant soda system. This seems to be working fine.

Now even the neatest of people should expect to get some oil on them or spill some oil on the floor or driveway. Take the time to lay a trail of cardboard between your drum and your car. Trust me, YOU WILL SPILL OIL. I learned this the hard way and now my garage and driveway looks like it was paid a visit by the Exxon Valdese. Oh and get one of these #mce_temp_url#barrel dolly things. The stuff is heavy–like 300lbs or more when full.

Let me know if anyone has a better way to get started spewing grease.

Oh…and don’t wear a suit when you are fueling. Do it at night when you can dress like a shiftless hobo and nobody will see. I, um, did not do this once. Maybe.

About John Rarrick

I'm John Rarrick, driver of veggie-powered cars and backyard chicken farmer. If you are looking to dabble in the slippery world of cars that run on french fry oil, then herein lies a bounty of useless knowledge for you to absorb.

One response »

  1. DanR says:

    Here is my home fueling station. It is not very different from yours but has a couple of nice additional features, like gravity feed (no pump).
    Here is my post.
    Dan

Leave a Reply

